2021 Alberta Bicycle Association Annual General Meeting October 6th, 2021 ABA AGM Minutes 7:00pm-8:00pm Zoom

Quroum not achieved- Shantel Koenig announced the winners for the 2021 awards

Agreed to start the meeting at 7:20pm.

1. Review and Approval of Agenda

No objections- agenda as circulated approved

2. Approval of AGM Minutes September 21, 2020

No objections- minutes approved as circulated

3. Reports

3.1 Shantel Koenig-President

- Trying and long year, was nice to see some events start up
- Looking forward to next year with some racing resuming
- Deferred to report circulated prior to the meeting

3.2 Jonas Tremel- Vice President BMX

- Started in June under covid restrictions
- AB Cup series starting in July
- Lots of positive things this year—volunteers and parents ensured races all went ahead
- Hosted National Champs in Calgary, almost 600 riders
- Large project in the works, BMX community is excited about in St. Albert- build of a supercross hill
- Shane Carson- President of Alberta BMX Supercross Association spoke to the St. Albert Supercross track build.
 - 12-24 months
 - have a financial model
 - seeking funding from the Province and City of St. Albert
 - purpose is for rider development

3.3 James Kendal-Vice President Racing

- Biggest achievement was feedback regarding mountain bike racing- opened up single event licenses across all categories and found it brought people out who wouldn't normally come out to race
- Like to see organizers host both Marathon or Enduro and XCO over a weekend
- Cross season has been happening, good uptake in participation

- Want to keep youth in sport
- Athlete Highlight-Kelsey Mitchell's gold medal; lots of other great athlete performances internationally across disciplines
- Looking forward to another year on the board, and looking forward to more racing

3.4 Don Hollingshead- Vice President Recreation & Transportation

- Committee in hiatus due to Covid
- Bob Walsh is working with committee regarding rumble strips
- Aaron Schooler working with City of Edmonton regarding passing laws
- Aaron Schooler-spoke about getting the by-law passed, would like to see the safe passing law as a provincial law and get it into some educational pieces i.e. driver education
- Jeff Gruttz-working with Trailnet, significant way of feeding the provincial cycling scene

3.5 Erin Ruttan- Vice President Women's Racing

- Lots of new women on bikes in the province, uptake on people offering learn to ride clinics specifically for women, clinics were filling up
- ABA saw 77 new female cyclists sign up via zone 4
- New women's only club formed in Edmonton (Cassette Collective)
- Velodromes have done some amazing things for women and seeing growth in their membership. Same number of men and women at Track Provincials, which is a first
- Working on collecting metrics of women's participation
- Many women from Alberta doing amazing things at the international level

3.6 Chris Bullivant- Chief Commissaire

- Increase in adult women at BMX events.
- Zoom commissare courses were offered in the spring- invited other provinces to participate as well
- UCI Announced BMX Elite National course Scott Henderson from AB attended
- New assignment system for BMX inline with other disciplines, more transparent system

4.0 Items for Approval

- 4.1 Audited 2021 Financial Statements
- Due to planning over the last 10 years we stayed healthy had the savings to keep things going
- Professional audit was completed
- Discussion about plan for the future and what the plan is, no plans at the moment for any capital spending

Motion to approve audited financial statements for 2020- Helen Bain/Chris Bullivant- carried

5.0 Elections

5.1 Vice President Administration - 2 years Helen Bain nominated by Michael Pinkoski

Acclaimed – Helen Bain

5.2 Vice President Recreation & Transportation -2 years Bob Walsh- Nominated Don Hollingshead

Acclaimed- Don Hollingshead

5.3 Vice President Women's Racing-2 years
Office received nomination for Erin Ruttan

Acclaimed- Erin Ruttan

5.4 2 Members at Large-2 years
Tyla Thompson nominated Mike Chalmers

Mike Chalmers acclaimed

5.5 2 Racing Committee Members- 2 years Shawn Bunnin nominated Petrina Tulissi Erin Ruttan nominated Alex Volstad Helen Bain nominated Aaron Schooler- declined Shawn Bunnin nominated David Roberts

Elected- Alex Volstad, Petrina Tulissi

5.6 3 BMX Committee Member- 2 years

Office received nominations for:

Tyler Clemence Kristopher Mitschke Tyla Thomsen Ryan Reeve Ryan Reeve- nominated Sandy Fokkens

Elected Tyler Clemence, Kristopher Mitschke, Tyla Thomsen

Electronic ballots will be deleted at the conclusion of the meeting

6.0 Other Business

6.1 Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 8:46pm